The Frozen Halls: Phase 4 Dungeon Overview

wotlk frozen halls dungeon overview

Phase 4 brings three new dungeons known as the Frozen Halls to Wrath of the Lich King Classic. This trio of 5-man instances will offer loot that is on par with raid gear from previous tiers (ilvl 219 for Normal and 232 for Heroic, or tier 8 and 9 equivalents). They also continue the Wrath of the Lich King story as you pave the way for an assault on Icecrown Citadel, one of the most iconic raids in the game.

These three dungeons – The Forge of Souls, Pit of Saron, and Halls of Reflection – are significantly harder than previous 5-man content. You’ll need a reasonably geared and capable party to clear them, especially on heroic difficulty.

At first only The Forge of Souls will be open to you. To unlock the other two dungeons, you’ll need to progress through a chain of quests that begins with Wow Alliance CrestInside the Frozen Citadel/Inside the Frozen Citadel. This quest can be picked up from Dark Ranger Vorel, who patrols near the Horde side bank in Dalaran. The quest chain will take you through the three dungeons in order, concluding in Halls of Reflection.

In addition to the other catchup gear that can be obtained from these dungeons, trash mobs also have a chance to drop the Wow Alliance CrestBattered Hilt/Battered Hilt, a BOE item that starts a chain of quests to forge a very strong epic weapon. This item will be in high demand, either to make the weapon or to sell it for gold. For help with this quest chain, check out our guide to Restoring the Battered Hilt and Obtaining Quel’Delar.

Also coming with Phase 4 is the Random Dungeon Finder (RDF) tool, making its Classic debut at long last. You’ll be able to queue for the new dungeons using the RDF. To queue for the normal versions you’ll need an average item level of at least 180. For the Heroic versions of The Forge of Souls and Pit of Saron you’ll need an average item level of 200, and for Heroic Halls of Reflection you’ll need at least 219. There is also a new tier of Titan Rune Dungeons coming with Phase 4, Defense Protocol Gamma, but the Frozen Halls dungeons will not include these additional difficulty levels.

You can see everything that’s coming to Wrath Classic in our Phase 4 summary, and view all of our Frozen Halls dungeon guides by clicking the links below.

About the Author


I've been playing World of Warcraft on and off since vanilla, usually as a healer or caster and often as a guild leader. I play both retail and classic. I also love RPGs, sandboxes, and sims.

Notify of

1 Comment
Most Voted
Newest Oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
9 months ago

Nice post and please provide more information. Thanks for sharing.

Scroll to Top