wow season of discovery phases
  • Author: Luxrah
  • Date: November 5, 2023
  • Updated: November 5, 2023
  • Expansion: WoW Classic

Following the big announcement of Season of Discovery at BlizzCon, we’ve been getting a steady trickle of information about this new season of Classic WoW. In an interview with Wowhead yesterday, the developers revealed that there are 4 content phases planned for the game. They also revealed what the level caps will be for each phase:

  • Phase 1: Level 25
  • Phase 2: Level 40
  • Phase 3: Level 50
  • Phase 4: Level 60

These level ranges line up with some of the instances that we saw glimpses of at the end of the What’s Next panel, so perhaps those are planned raids for future phases. Gnomeregan and Scarlet Monastery could work for level 40, and Karazhan Crypts for level 60.

The devs also said we may see some vanilla endgame raids like Molten Core make a return with some new mechanics.

You will be able to access higher level zones before the level cap is raised, but you won’t be able to discover higher level runes until the appropriate phase is released.

A couple of things to note about the Phase 2 level cap: level 40 is when you get your first mount, so this phase will effectively add mounts to the game. It’s also when a lot of classes get some spec-defining abilities that will drastically change the way they play. We can probably expect major rebalancing with each phase, as each class in vanilla WoW peaks at different levels.

About the Author


I've been playing World of Warcraft on and off since vanilla, usually as a healer or caster and often as a guild leader. I play both retail and classic. I also love RPGs, sandboxes, and sims.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Scroll to Top