Blizzard Details Post-Death Server Transferring for Hardcore Classic WoW Characters

blizzard details post death server transferring for hardcore classic wow characters

It was previously said that death on a hardcore realm may be the end of your journeys on the hardcore servers, but you can transfer that same character and whatever progress you’ve made with it to a regular Classic Era WoW server.

In this post Kaivax goes over exactly how that function works, and which servers are available for transfer. It appears that about one server in each battlegroup (A collection of servers that can interact with one another) is available for transfer from the hardcore realms. These servers are Whitemane, Arugal, Mankrik, Atiesh, Benediction, Faerlina, and Sulfuras.

If you want to be in a certain battlegroup make sure to read on down below, where each group is listed, to make an informed decision! Good luck out there, and happy leveling!

Kaivax – (Source)

No one wants to become a ghost, but for those who wish to consider that eventuality, some end-of-life planning is in order.

Death is not the end

Oops, your hardcore character died. Now what?

Your best option is to move the character to a Classic Era realm, where you can resurrect and continue playing the character, should you ever wish to.

Choosing a destination

Most Classic Era realms are connected. That means that if you transfer the character to one of them, you’ll put yourself into a cluster of realms. Here are the clusters in this region:

  • Anathema, Arcanite Reaper, Bigglesworth, Blaumeux, Fairbanks, Kurinnaxx, Rattlegore, Smolderweb, Thunderfury, and =Whitemane=
  • =Arugal=, Felstriker, and Yojamba
  • Ashkandi, =Mankrik=, Pagle, Westfall, and Windseeker
  • =Atiesh=, Azuresong, Myzrael, and Old Blanchy
  • =Benediction=, =Faerlina=, Heartseeker, Incendius, and Netherwind
  • Earthfury, Herod, Kirtonos, Kromcrush, Skeram, Stalagg, =Sulfuras=, and Thalnos

Thus, if you have characters on Yojamba (Era), you’ll probably want to take the free transfer to Arugal. Similarly, if you’re destined for Earthfury (Era), you can send the character to Sulfuras.

Bloodsail Buccaneers and Grobbulus are destinations that are not connected to other Classic Era realms.

Double-check your choice

Your free character transfer is one-way, and cannot be changed once initiated.

Resurrect in peace.

About the Author


I've been playing WoW since beta with some breaks here and there. I'm a semi-hardcore to hardcore raider that focuses on retail mainly. I'm a big fan of giant dragons and am excited for all that Dragonflight will have to offer.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Scroll to Top