Further Details Revealed About the Earthen Allied Race in The War Within

wow 11 blizzcon revealpk earthen 005

Yesterday Blizzard announced a new Allied Race, The Earthen, as part of the next WoW expansion, The War Within. Today we got some more details about this race of titan-forged dwarves during the WoW Deep Dive panel.

First, the Earthen will be earned purely by playing through the entire The War Within campaign. You won’t need to grind any reputation or jump through any other hoops, just complete all of the quests in the new zones.

Second, this race will be available to both Horde and Alliance, which means Horde will now be able to play as dwarves. With the increasingly cross-faction nature of the game, it’s likely that we’ll see more crossover races like this in the future, much like how Alliance got blood elves through the Void Elf race.

Racial abilities for the Earthen have not been finalized, so we don’t know what they are yet.

However, we did find out what classes will be available to Earthen. Here’s the list:

  • Death Knight
  • Hunter
  • Mage
  • Monk
  • Paladin
  • Priest
  • Rogue
  • Shaman
  • Warlock
  • Warrior

That just leaves demon hunter, druid, and evoker out, which isn’t surprising since those are the most restricted classes.

Below you can see a concept of the Earthen heritage armor, which you will be able to earn by leveling an Earthen character to max level (80).

the earthen allied race heritage armor concept art

About the Author


I've been playing World of Warcraft on and off since vanilla, usually as a healer or caster and often as a guild leader. I play both retail and classic. I also love RPGs, sandboxes, and sims.

Notify of

1 Comment
Most Voted
Newest Oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
6 months ago

very excited for the Earthen

Scroll to Top