Skyriding in The War Within: How Flying Will Work in the Upcoming Expansion

Skyriding in The War Within: How Flying Will Work in the Upcoming Expansion

Today marks the beginning of Beta testing for the upcoming The War Within expansion, and Blizzard has shared some content previews for the expansion, including how flying will work going forward. They’ve even given it a new name: Skyriding.

Skyriding is basically Dragonriding or Dynamic Flight, expanded to include many other flying mounts. The old type of flying remains available in the game and is now going to be called Steady Flight.

You’ll be able to use Skyriding right away in the new continent of Khaz Algar. Steady Flight will be unlocked by reaching maximum level, exploring the new zones, and completing The War Within’s story campaign.

New glyphs will be available to collect in Khaz Algar, and many mechanics from Dragonriding will shift to be obtainable without visiting the Dragon Isles, including increased Vigor. However, it sounds like some of the glyphs from Dragonflight will still need to be picked up in their current locations.

Skyriding skills will be viewable in the Mounts tab of the Collections window. You’ll also be able to assign individual mounts to use Skyriding or Steady Flight from within this pane.

Blizzard – (Source)

In The War Within™, players will be able to take to the skies on many flying mounts using new flight mechanics with Skyriding.

Dragonriding is here to stay and will also be available for many flying mounts in all flyable areas even prior to the launch of The War Within. Players will also be able to toggle between Skyriding (previously known as dynamic flight) or the flying style introduced originally in The Burning Crusade (TBC) which we’re calling Steady Flight.

Skyriding will be available from the start in Khaz Algar and players will be able to unlock steady flight at maximum level by exploring the zones of The War Within and completing the campaign.  Players will also be able to collect glyphs throughout Khaz Algar as they explore.  These glyphs will be shifting to an evergreen state in which players shouldn’t feel as if they need to go back to Dragonflight to gain any they missed before. Some abilities that players have collected from their adventures in the Dragon Isles may be restricted to the Dragon Isles, but base abilities like increased Vigor will become a part of how Skyriding works and available to everyone as they level up.

You’ll be able to easily identify the mounts that are enabled for Skyriding from within the Warbands Collection tab (Shift-P) which will be noted as Skyriding. To switch between Skyriding and Steady Flight, you can do so directly in the mount collection on the individual mount you want to switch by clicking on the Skyriding icon in the middle of the interface and selecting “Switch Flight Style” in the drop-down menu. It’s important to note that any mount that doesn’t support Skyriding will be grounded if Skyriding is active. You will also be able to open your Skills Unlock here as well.

The ground mounts in your collection will continue to stay grounded, but most flying mounts will be able to be put to use for Skyriding save for a select few such as the Otterworldly Ottuk Carrier, some fish mounts, and brooms.

We look forward to joining you in the skies in The War Within!

About the Author


I've been playing World of Warcraft on and off since vanilla, usually as a healer or caster and often as a guild leader. I play both retail and classic. I also love RPGs, sandboxes, and sims.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Scroll to Top