PvE Beast Mastery Hunter Stat Priority & Reforging

bm hunter featured image stat priority
  • Author: Passion
  • Date: June 29, 2024
  • Updated: June 29, 2024
  • Expansion: Cataclysm

In this section of the guide, we will go over each stat that a Beast Mastery Hunter requires and explain how they function along with any possible stat caps that you will have to consider.

Stat Priority

  1. Agility
  2. Hit Rating
  3. Critical Strike Rating
  4. Mastery
  5. Haste Rating

Agility is a primary stat, acting as the most important stat for all Hunters. It increases your Attack Power while also increasing your Critical Strike Chance.

Hit Rating is the most important secondary stat after your primary stat, Agility, as you will require it to land hits on your target. You will need an 8% Hit Chance to ensure that your shots never miss as a Beast Mastery Hunter!

Critical Strike Chance is the most valuable stat for Beast Mastery once you have reached the Hit Cap. This talent scales fantastically with both [Invigoration] and [Go for the Throat], making every Crit that much more valuable.

Mastery is a new stat introduced in Cataclysm that enhances a specific effect for each different Specialization/Class in the game. In the case of Beast Mastery Hunter, Mastery enhances the [Master of Beasts] effect, increasing the damage done by your pet. Most of your DPS comes from your pet, so of course, Mastery just makes sense.

Haste Rating is your lowest priority stat. While it may look good, offering faster Focus regeneration and reduced cast times, it just does not do enough to be worth taking over other stats.


Reforging is introduced in Cataclysm as an additional way to adjust your equipment’s secondary stats. Through reforging, we can acquire a plethora of different stats in exchange for a portion of our current gear’s secondary stats. However, we may not replace any of the main stats on a piece of equipment such as Agility or Stamina.

The main stats that Beast Mastery Hunter will reforge are any non-beneficial stats into are Hit Rating until the 8% Soft Cap, followed by Crit Rating, and Mastery Rating if at the Hit Cap but unable to reforge into Crit Rating.


About the Author


I love MMOs of all shades, especially the nitty gritty numbers parts of them. You might recognize me from the Shadow Priest discord, otherwise I play a little bit of everything, especially games with support roles available.
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Scroll to Top